2015 Architecture Awards


2015 AIA Columbus Architecture Awards

Congratulations to this year's award winners!!


 B28 Neuroscience Center  


OhioHealth Neuroscience Center


Owner: OhioHealth
Photo Credit: Eduard Hueber, ArchPhoto

View the Original Submission 

 B38 Battery B  HONOR AWARD

Battery B

Jonathan Barnes Architecture and Design

Owner: JDS Companies
Photo Credit: Brad Feinknopf

View the Original Submission 

 B20 Connor Group Headquarters    MERIT AWARD

The Connor Group Headquarters

Moody Nolan, Inc.

Owner: The Connor Group
Photo Credit: Brad Feinknopf

View the Original Submission 

 B09 Whitehall Branch Library   MERIT AWARD

Columbus Metropolitan Library: Whitehall Branch

Jonathan Barnes Architecture and Design

Owner: Columbus Metropolitan Library
Photo Credit: Brad Feinknopf

View the Original Submission 

 B32 Market Italian Village  



The Market, Italian Village

Tim Lai ArchitecT

Owner: A+R Creative Group
Photo Credit: Brad Feinknopf

View the Original Submission 

 B39 Coney Island MERIT AWARD

Coney Island

Blostein/Overly Architects

Owner: Capital Crossroads Special Improvement District
Photo Credit: Andy Spessard Photography

View the Original Submission 

 U02 Martin Luther King Branch Library   MERIT PROJECT AWARD

Columbus Metropolitan Library: Martin Luther King Branch

Moody Nolan, Inc.

Owner: Columbus Metropolitan Library

View the Original Submission 



Thursday, November 12, 2015
Strongwater Food & Spirits
401 W Town St.
Columbus, OH 43215

Awards ceremony presented by Head Juror Robert Gurney, FAIA of Robert M. Gurney, FAIA Architects

Cocktail Reception | 5:30 PM
Awards Presentation | 7:00 PM (1.0 LU)

The AIA Columbus Chapter's annual Architecture Awards Program recognizes excellence in architectural design by Columbus architects and those within the boundaries of the AIA Columbus Chapter. The program's purpose is to recognize the achievements for a broad range of architectural activity in order to elevate the general quality of architectural practice, establish a standard of excellence against which all architects can measure performance, inform the public of the breadth and value of architectural practice, and to honor the architects, clients, and consultants who work together to improve the built environment. 

To achieve these goals, the AIA Columbus Architecture Awards program has two divisions:

Built Awards
Architecture Awards is an all inclusive category, and recognizes design excellence for completed architecture executed in all scales, of all types of buildings, interiors, restoration, preservation and adaptive re-use. An Architecture Award entry may be any building or complex of buildings, constructed anywhere in the world, and substantially complete NOT before January 1, 2008.

Unbuilt Awards
Project Awards recognize design excellence in projects scheduled to be built, as well as those that will never be built. Submissions may be commissioned or self-generated, research or speculation. Competition entries, speculative research, etc. are all viable submissions.

Register for the Awards Ceremony Here!

View summary of all 2015 Architecture Award submissions.


The lead juror for the 2015 AIA Columbus Architecture Awards is Robert Gurney, FAIA of Robert M. Gurney, FAIA Architect in Washington, D.C.
Robert Gurney, FAIA. He will be presenting the awards at the ceremony. 

Robert Gurney
Robert M. Gurney, FAIA

The office of Robert M. Gurney, FAIA is dedicated to the design of modern, meticulously detailed and thoughtfully ordered residential and commercial projects that are sensitive to site, program and budget. Materials are employed with honesty, integrity and ecological awareness. Interior spaces are active and intricate, tranquil and minimal. Regardless of project size or budget, our office is committed to producing buildings and spaces that strive for design excellence.

His office has created a body of work that has won more than two hundred seventy local, regional and national design awards, including two National AIA Honor awards, six National AIA Housing Awards, six American Architecture Awards and three national AIA Small Project Awards. The office's work has been published in numerous local, national and international magazines, books and periodicals, and is the subject of a monograph, "Modern Order: Houses by Robert Gurney".

For the jury process, he was accompanied by: 

Alan Dynerman of Dynerman Architects
Jeffrey Lee of Clark Nexsen
Mary Kay Lanzillotta of Hartman Cox Architects


Sponsors Website Copy

A huge thanks to all of our sponsors for the 2015 Architecture Awards!

See the 2014 AIA Columbus Architecture Awards winners.

Email Jordan Iseler at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  with any questions.