Continuing Education

The AIA/CES system enables architects to keep current, master new knowledge and skills, plan for the future, and responsibly meet the role society entrusts to a professional.

All registered architect members must successfully complete 18 learning unit (LU) hours each year, with at least 12 of the 18 LU hours relating to health, safety and welfare (HSW). More information about the AIA CES system requirements can be found on the AIA Education website. 

NOTE: Beginning in 2013, AIA Members will no longer be required to earn 4 Sustainable Design (SD) credits; only 18 Learning Units, of which 12 need to be Health, Safety, and Welfare. 

The State of Ohio also has mandatory eduction requirements for architects. Information about Ohio's requirements can be found at at the Ohio Architects Board website.

Sign in here to view a copy of your transcript. (How do I view my transcript?) You can also get full transcript assistance at 1-800-242-3837, option 3. 

Self Reporting Continuing Education Hours
If a program is not offered by an AIA/CES Registered provider, members have the option of self-reporting the program or activity. The intent of this activity must educational in nature and new knowledge in reference to their practice of architecture. Members must indicate whether the activity they are reporting is self-designed or a structured self-reported program. In order to receive HSW credit hours, however, the course MUST be taken from an AIA/CES approved provider. AIA members will no longer be able to self-report HSW learning units.  Learn more about self reporting CE hours here.

AIA Columbus offers many Continuing Education opportunities each month. View upcoming events.

 AIAU Logo

If unable to attend the AIA Columbus events, check out AIAU, a place for architects to learn and earn continuing education credits online. 



Title Sponsors





  pella logo


DesignPro FULL logo


Terracon PMS188



BSHM Logo gray text






arc logo